Gilette’s Castle (State Park)

It looks like a medieval fortress, but a step inside the stone castle reveals the built-in couches, table trackway, and woodcarvings that all point to the creative genius that was William Gillette.

From Wikipedia:
William Gillette’s estate, called Seventh Sister, was built in 1914 on a 184-acre (74 ha) tract on top of the southernmost of a chain of hills known as the Seven Sisters. After Gillette died, with no wife or children, his will precluded the possession of his castle not by any “blithering sap-head who has no conception of where he is or with what surrounded”. Connecticut’s government took over the property in 1943, renaming the home as Gillette’s Castle and the estate as Gillette Castle State Park. The estate was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

While the park is open year-round, the castle is open for self-guided tours from Memorial Day Weekend through Columbus Day.

The MWR Office has a limited number of passes available for checkout that offer free admission for up to two adults and four children. If our passes are checked out, your local library may have the same passes. Without a pass, admission to the castleĀ is $6 for adults and $2 for children. There is no charge to park and explore the grounds.